Monday, March 25, 2013

Celebrate Texas History RHRD Style

The Dick Smith Library is one of twenty four depositories in the Regional Historical Resource Depository (RHRD) program located throughout the state at academic and other institutions that meet requirements of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to house historical records of local governments. The purpose of the Regional Historical Resource Depository (RHRD) program is to collect, preserve, and make available the historic records of local governments to the public. The majority of the records have fulfilled their administrative, fiscal, and legal values and are permanent only because of their historical value. Without the RHRD program many of these records would not be publicly accessible if the local government still possessed them.

The Dick Smith Library holds records for the following counties: Brown, Callahan, Coleman, Comanche, Eastland, Erath, Shackelford, and Stephens Counties. The records are either microfilm or actual textual records. Records of Erath County can be found in both microfilm and textual format (sometimes both for the same record). While Coleman, Comanche, and Eastland counties are available only as textual records, Brown, Callahan, Shackelford, and Stephens counties records are on microfilm.

The different types of records, which may not be available for all time periods or counties, include tax records, probate, civil and criminal court minutes, birth and death records, deed records, marriage, naturalization, marks and brands, school records, and sheriff's jail dockets, to name a few. Records on microfilm can be borrowed using the Interlibrary Loan system. For a list of county records that are available on microfilm, see  For a list of institutions that hold records and what counties they hold, see, . For information on the microfilm and textual holdings of the Dick Smith Library and how to use them, contact either Gary Spurr,, or Amanda Pape,

No comments: