Thursday, December 3, 2009

The Trogdon House

Yesterday we had snow flurries, and tomorrow we are supposed to have snow flurries! The undated photo above shows the Trogdon House with snow! Ten years ago yesterday another event occurred!! The Minutes of the meeting of the Texas A & M System Board of Regents, December 2, 1999 state: "The Hall of Presidents on the campus of Tarleton State University is hereby named the "Trogdon House," in honor of Dr. and Mrs. William O. Trogdon."

Built 1923 to serve as the residence of the college's chief executive officer, the structure was originally called the Dean's Home. Dean J. Thomas Davis designed the house, and it was built by local carpenters and Tarleton students at a cost of $8,000. The Tarleton students working on the construction for 25 cents to 62 1/3 cents per hour, earned enough money to pay for their fees the following semester!

Three Tarleton presidents and their families, J. Thomas Davis, E.J. Howell, and W.O. Trogdon, lived in the home continually throughout their presidencies - from 1923 until 1982. After President Trogdon retired, the home was named the Hall of Presidents and used for offices. The dedication ceremony unveiling its' Texas Historical marker was held October 14, 1989.

Our current President, F. Dominic Dottavio and his wife Lisette are in the process of bringing the home back to life - family life! When the renovations are complete they will move into the home, and once again the President of Tarleton State University will live in the center of campus!

No comments: